Coding Station

近期研究項目

機器學習電磁兼容

偶極子重建和近場掃描的機器學習應用

1. 用卷積神經網絡重建偶極子源

在RFI問題的研究中,等效偶極矩被廣泛用於重構噪聲源。耦合電壓或耦合功率可以從重建的偶極子源中計算出來。設計人員還可以改進設計以減輕基於等效源模型的耦合。


一種使用卷積神經網絡 (CNN) 的基於機器學習的偶極子源重建方法。 CNN 被廣泛用於處理二維網格數據,例如圖像。電磁場的圖片被饋送到卷積神經網絡,CNN 執行多標籤分類以確定所有類型的主導偶極矩。 CNN 還生成一個類激活圖,它指示每種類型的當前偶極矩的位置。在已知偶極子的類型和位置的情況下,可以從 LSQ 或其他優化方法獲得每個偶極子的幅度和相位。使用預訓練的捲積神經網絡模型,可以在一秒鐘內確定偶極子類型和位置,然後使用優化算法重建場圖。電磁兼容性中心正在繼續進一步改進當前模型並探索使用機器學習方法來解決其他可能的 EMC 應用。

 

機器學習 PI

使用機器學習進行 PDN 建模和去蓋優化

在配電網絡 (PDN) 設計中,目前主要有兩個挑戰。第一個是複雜 PDN 系統的高效建模,而第二個是佈局前去封裝優化。電磁兼容性中心一直在探索應用機器學習技術解決這些問題的可行性。這個方向的工作分為三個部分。

1. 使用邊界積分的快速 PDN 阻抗計算

在 PDN 設計中,對任意電路板形狀和疊層進行建模和有效計算阻抗非常重要。這項工作採用邊界元法 (BEM),只需將邊界離散為段並執行一維邊界積分即可計算準靜態電感。通過這種邊界元方法,可以在幾秒鐘內獲得任何平面形狀的通孔之間的電感矩陣。此外,開發了一種基於節點電壓法的專用電路求解器,用於根據多層 PDN 結構的等效電路計算總阻抗,因此不再需要其他商業工具,如 Hspice。對於具有任意板形狀和疊層的多層印刷電路板 (PCB),整個算法可以比全波仿真更快地計算 PDN 阻抗。例如,對於具有 50 個去耦電容器 (decaps) 的 10 層印刷電路板 (PCB),所提出的方法只需要不到 5 秒,而全波仿真需要數十分鐘。

 

2. 使用深度學習的快速 PDN 阻抗預測

所提出方法的超快計算速度使得為機器學習應用生成大量具有不同板形、堆疊、IC 位置和開蓋放置的 PCB 成為可能且高效。第一個機器學習應用程序是使用深度學習進行 PDN 阻抗預測的新概念。通過採用上述方法,隨機生成超過 100 萬塊不同形狀、堆疊、IC 位置和開蓋放置的板來訓練深度神經網絡 (DNN)。經過訓練的 DNN 可以準確預測尚未用於訓練的新電路板配置的阻抗,均方根誤差 (RMSE) 僅為 1 dB 左右。使用經過訓練的 DNN 所消耗的時間僅為 0.1 秒,比 BEM 方法快數十倍,比全波模擬快數千倍。

6_2_1_Machine_Learning_pi.jpg

3.使用深度強化學習的Decap優化

第二個機器學習應用程序使用深度強化學習 (DRL) 進行去蓋優化。去耦電容器 (decaps) 的放置對於 PDN 設計至關重要,但由於不同位置和 decap 類型導致巨大的搜索空間,因此通常具有挑戰性。在這項工作中,DRL 用於加速 decap 優化過程。 DRL 模型以電路板狀態和部分開蓋放置作為輸入,輸出不同開蓋選擇和放置的動作概率。該算法根據概率探索不同的動作,並訓練 DNN 使獎勵更高的動作更有可能發生。隨機生成超過 10,000 個具有各種電路板形狀、堆疊、IC 位置和開蓋位置的 PCB,以訓練 DNN 以滿足目標阻抗。經過訓練的 DNN 可以在 0.1 秒內為新 PCB 預測出高質量的解決方案。此外,該解決方案被用作遺傳算法 (GA) 的初始種群,該算法搜索具有較少 decaps 的更好解決方案。使用預訓練的 DNN 預測的解決方案,GA 尋找最佳解決方案的搜索時間可以減少到幾分鐘。這項工作中提出的建模方法和機器學習技術對於 PDN 系統的佈局前 decap 優化和佈局後性能評估的效率提高具有新穎性和價值。電磁兼容性中心正在繼續創新探索使用機器學習方法來解決 PDN 問題和其他可能的 EMC 應用。

6_2_2_Machine_Learning_pi.jpg

機器學習SI

使用基於機器學習的回歸分析對差分帶狀線進行通用建模

在本研究中,使用基於機器學習 (ML) 的回歸分析創建了差分帶狀線的通用模型。使用創建各種輸入的遞歸方法代替傳統的實驗設計 (DoE) 方法。這導致減少模擬次數以及控制執行模擬所需的數據點。通用模型是使用比線性回歸模型少得多的模擬來開發的。此外,差分帶狀線的表格 W 元素模型可用於使與頻率相關的介電損耗生效。這種方法很容易擴展到更多的差分對。感興趣的頻率範圍高達 20 GHz。
用於創建通用模型的差分帶狀線的橫截面如下圖所示。通用模型的輸入是幾何變化,例如導體的預浸料和芯線高度寬度、差分對之間的間距。電介質高度 和導體的厚度 保持不變。定義參數的設計空間後(見表 I),在 Ansys Q2D 中執行仿真。從結果中提取列表和頻率相關的 RLGC 值。 RLGC 值用作輸出數據集。選擇遞歸方法來選擇每個輸入參數的模擬數量和級別。這意味著在每一步都會檢查創建的通用模型的準確性。額外的模擬被添加到訓練數據集,直到滿足準確性標準。這種情況下的標準是插入損耗與 1 dB 內的 2D 模擬相匹配。每個輸入參數的級別列在表 I 中。雖然可以觀察到使用大量模擬可以獲得更好的擬合,但通過仔細調整隱藏層的數量、輸入多項式、正則化因子,以及優化器。該模型使用在訓練階段未使用的帶狀線幾何結構進行驗證。

Coding Station

Recent Research Projects

Machine Learning EMC

Machine Learning Applications for Dipole Reconstruction and Near-Field Scanning

1. Dipole Source Reconstruction by Convolutional Neural Networks

In the study of RFI problems, equivalent dipole moments are widely used to reconstruct the noise source. The coupled voltage or coupled power can be calculated from the reconstructed dipole sources. Designers can also improve the design to mitigate the coupling based on the equivalent source models.


A machine learning based dipole source reconstruction method using convolutional neural networks (CNN). CNNs are widely used to process 2-D grid data such as images. The picture of the electromagnetic field is fed to the convolutional neural network, and the CNN performs a multi-label classification to determine all types of dominant dipole moments. The CNN also generates a class activation map, which indicates the locations of each type of present dipole moment. With the types and locations of the dipoles known, the magnitude and phase of each dipole can be obtained from LSQ or other optimization methods. With a pre-trained convolutional neural network model, the dipole type and location can be determined in one second and then use optimization algorithms to reconstruct the field pattern. The Center for Electromagnetic Compatibility is continuing to further improve current model and the exploration of using machine learning methodologies to address other possible EMC applications.

 

Machine Learning PI

PDN Modeling and Decap Optimization with Machine Learning

In power distribution networks (PDN) design, there are mainly two challenges nowadays. The first one is efficient modeling for complex PDN systems, while the second one is pre-layout decap optimization. The Center for Electromagnetic Compatibility has been exploring the feasibility of applying machine learning techniques to tackle these problems. The work in this direction is divided into three parts.

1. Fast PDN impedance calculation using boundary integration

Modeling PDN and calculating the impedance efficiently for arbitrary board shapes and stackups is important in PDN design. This work employs a boundary element method (BEM) that only needs to discretize the boundary into segments and perform 1D boundary integration to calculate the quasi-static inductances. The inductance matrix between vias for any plane shape can be obtained in seconds through this BEM method. Furthermore, a specialized circuit solver based on the node voltage method is developed to calculate the total impedance from the equivalent circuit for multi-layer PDN structures, so other commercial tools such as Hspice are not needed anymore. The entire algorithm can calculate the PDN impedance much faster than full-wave simulations for multi-layer printed circuit boards (PCB) with arbitrary board shapes and stackups. For example, for a 10-layer printed circuit board (PCB) with 50 decoupling capacitors (decaps), the proposed methodology only requires less than 5 seconds, while full-wave simulations need tens of minutes.

 

2. Fast PDN impedance prediction using deep learning

The superfast computation speed of the proposed method makes it possible and efficient to generate large amounts of PCBs with different board shapes, stackups, IC location, and decap placement for machine learning applications. The first machine learning application is a novel concept of using deep learning for PDN impedance prediction. By adopting the methodology mentioned above, over one million boards with different shapes, stackup, IC location, and decap placement are randomly generated to train a deep neural network (DNN). The trained DNN can predict the impedance accurately for new board configurations that have not been used for training, with a root mean square error (RMSE) of around 1 dB only. The consumed time using the trained DNN is only 0.1 seconds, which is tens of times faster than the BEM method and thousands of times faster than full-wave simulations.

6_2_1_Machine_Learning_pi.jpg

3. Decap optimization using deep reinforcement learning

The second machine learning application is using deep reinforcement learning (DRL) for decap optimization. The placement of decoupling capacitors (decaps) is crucial to PDN design but usually challenging due to the enormous search space caused by different locations and decap types. In this work, DRL is used to accelerate the decap optimization process. The DRL model takes board state and partial decap placement as input, and it outputs action probabilities for different decap selection and placement. The algorithm explores different actions according to their probabilities and trains a DNN to make actions with higher rewards more likely to happen. Over 10,000 PCBs with various board shapes, stackups, IC locations, and decap locations are randomly generated to train a DNN to satisfy a target impedance. The trained DNN can predict a high-quality solution for a new PCB within 0.1s. Further, the solution is used as the initial population of a genetic algorithm (GA) that searches for a better solution with fewer decaps. Using the predicted solution by the pre-trained DNN, the search time for the GA to find the optimum solution can be reduced to several minutes. The modeling method and the machine learning techniques proposed in this work are novel and valuable to the efficiency improvement of pre-layout decap optimization and post-layout performance evaluation for PDN systems. The Center for Electromagnetic Compatibility is continuing the innovative exploration of using machine learning methodologies to address PDN problems and other possible EMC applications.

6_2_2_Machine_Learning_pi.jpg

Machine Learning SI

Generic Modeling of Differential Striplines Using Machine Learning Based Regression Analysis

In this study, a generic model for a differential stripline is created using machine learning (ML) based regression analysis. A recursive approach of creating various inputs is adapted instead of traditional design of experiments (DoE) approach. This leads to reduction of number of simulations as well as control the data points required for performing simulations. The generic model is developed using considerably smaller number of simulations compared to linear regression models. Additionally, a tabular W-element model of a differential stripline can be used to take the frequency-dependent dielectric loss into effect. This method is easily expanded to a greater number of differential pairs. The frequency range of interest is upto 20 GHz.
A cross-section of a differential stripline used for creating the generic model is shown in the below figure. The inputs to the generic model are geometrical variations like pre-preg and core heightwidth of the conductor, pitch between the differential pair. The height of the dielectric  and the thickness of the conductor  are kept constant. After the design space of the parameters is defined (see Table I), simulations are performed in Ansys Q2D. Tabulated and frequency dependent RLGC values are extracted from the results. The RLGC values are used as output dataset. A recursive approach was chosen for selecting the number of simulations and levels for each of the input parameters. This means at every step the accuracy of the created generic model is checked. Additional simulations are added to the training dataset until the criteria for accuracy is met. The criteria in this case is the insertion loss to match with 2D simulations within 1 dB. The levels of each input parameter are listed in Table I. While it was observed that a better fit can be obtained using a larger number of simulations, the same effect can be achieved by carefully tuning the number of hidden layers, the input polynomial, the regularization factor, as well as the optimizer. The model is verified with a stripline geometry structure which wasn’t used during the training stage.